Tartarean Desire logo On the web since 2000 image
BANDS: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z  => Add
Turn edit mode on Turn on edit mode

Austria flag
STATUS Disbanded (since 2002)
BAND ADDED 2005-03-07, 00:00
LAST UPDATE 2010-09-18, 15:22
Band biography
Dreams Of Sanity photo
Dreams of Sanity was founded in April 1991 by Christian Marx (guitar and music) and Michael Knoflach (bass, lyrics) together with Hannes Richter (drums, ex-Blitzgemetzel, ex-Hypen) as a trio. Summer 1992 the first vocalist - Gudrun Gfrerer - and Florian Razesberger (keys) joined the band and Dreams of Sanity debued live in the cellar of Michael's parents. Backing-vocals were sung by Christian.

Winter 1993 Hannes richter left the band and was replaced by Romed Astner, Florian Razesberger switched to second guitar and Sefan Manges took place behind the keyboard. Instead of Gudrun Gfrerer, Birgit Moser and her friend Robert were featured on vocals.

Luckily Sandra schleret and Martina Hornbacher replaced the former vocalists and finally Dreams of Sanity released their first Demo Tape in May 1994 (recorded at the Fleischorgelstudios of Christoph Niederwieser (KOROVA)). In December 1994 Florian Ratzesberger was replaced by Andreas Wilauer on guitar.

With this line-up Dreams of Sanity recorded Komödia I and Komödia II in the Z-Sound-Studios in Insnburck and relesed the two songs on the self-financed A goddamed city-sampler together with four other Innsbruck underground-bands (btw: members of the band "Sarcasm Syndrom" can now be found in the line-up of DARKWELL and ANGRY ANGELS). In 1996 Ein Liebeslied war recorded in the same studio and released on the Hardboiled-Sampler togeter with a lot of other bands from the Tyrol. The song Komödia I got the attention of HALL OF SERMON in 1996 and after the "DARK WINTER NIGHTS" Tour together with Lacrimosa, THE GATHERING, SENTENCED and D-AGE a contract was signed on the 6.4.1997.

Already in Janurary 1997 the Komödia-Album was recorded in the Zero-Point Studios (Robert Romagna, Kramsach, Austria), mixed in the Impuls Studios Hamburg and released on the 3.11.97.

Summer 1997 Dreams of Sanity split from Martina Hornbacher and Romed Astner for musical and personal differences and after a lot of vocal-auditions decided not to fill Martina's place anymore. Harald Obexer replaced Romed and later, as Stefan Manges left the band, Frédéric Heil joined the little "Sanity Family". With this line-up Dreams of Sanity recorded Masquerade in August 1998 (released 25.1.1999) and The Game in August 1999 (released 25.9.2000 due to problems with the distribution in Germany). After the recordings of The Game Harald Obexer laft the band and was replace by Patrick Schrittwieser (drums). Soon also Frédéric Heil had to be replaced by Florian Steiner due to severe musical differences.

The band split up in the spring of 2002 after having parted with their record company Hall Of Sermon.
Discuss this band at our forum

Tartarean Desire forum banner

Former members Add - Fetch
Barbara Peer2000-2001Vocals
Frédéric Heil1997-2000Keyboards
Harald Obexer1997-1999Drums
Stefan Manges1993-1997Keyboards
Romed Astner1993-1997Drums
Florian Ratzesberger1992-1994Guitars, keyboards
Martina Hornbacher-Astner1994-1997VocalsSee also Alas, KorovaKill, Therion
Birgit Moser1993-1994Vocals
Hannes Richter1991-1993Drums
Gudrun Gfrerer1992-1993Vocals
Patrick Schrittwieser1999-2002Drums
Florian Steiner2000-2002Keyboards
Michael Knoflach1991-2002Bass
Andreas Wildaur1994-2002Guitars
Christian Marx1991-2002Guitars
Sandra Schleret1994-2000, 2001-2002VocalsSee also Eyes Of Eden, Siegfried
Session musicians Add - Fetch
Laura AngelmayerVocalsLive shows. v
Jan PeterGuitarsOn Masquerade, Game.
Tilo WolffVocalsOn Masquerade.
Buy albums
Official releases Add
1994[demo]No label
1996[demo]No label
1997KomödiaHall Of Sermon
1999MasqueradeHall Of Sermon
2000The GameHall Of Sermon
Tour dates / gigs
Click here to search for upcoming tour dates

Click here for a complete gig history
Search this site


E-mail address: