Tartarean Desire logo On the web since 2000 image
BANDS: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z  => Add
Turn edit mode on Turn on edit mode

Finland flag
BAND ADDED 2005-12-12, 00:00
LAST UPDATE 2009-04-13, 18:14
Band biography
Kalmah photo
The story of swamplords started in 1992 when Pekka Kokko (vocals & bass), Anssi Seppänen(guitar) and Petri Sankala (drums) founded Ancestor.

After several demo tapes and line-up changes Pekka`s brother Antti joined the band in 1997. The last nail to Ancestor`s coffin was demo-CD "Under the Burbot`s Nest" in 1998.

In 1999 there was Pekka, Antti and Petri left of Ancestor. They took keyboardist Antti-Matti Talala in the band and changed the name from Ancestor to Kalmah. Guys needed a fresh start in this it was.

The very first Kalmah cd "Svieri Obraza" was recorded at NEO-studios Oulu in Autumn 1999. Demos 3 powerful, melodic and fast songs were kind of a preview of what these guys could do. This tape was made only for promotion and the goal was getting the recording deal finally.

In spring 2000 the tape was sent to Spikefarm records. The crew of Spikefarm got excited and recording deal was made.

Then began the rehearsals for the debut album "Swamplord". Line-up changed a bit and Antti-Matti Talala(keys) was replaced by Pasi Hiltula. Altti Veteläinen(bass) filled the vacance of basist.

In October 2000 guys headed for the Tico-Tico studios. They recorded 8 songs for the "Swamplord". Ahti Kortelainen recorded and mixed the album. Line-up on swamplord was Pekka Kokko(g,v), Antti Kokko(g), Petri Sankala(d), Pasi Hiltula(k) and Altti Veteläinen(b). Swamplord was released 11.11 here in Finland and during the dollowing year in Russia, Japan, Germany, Netherlands, Switzerland, Austria, USA, Canada and Brazil.

Year 2001 was a time of change for the band when it comes to the line-up. In autumn Petri and Altti left the band because of their personal reasons. Replacements were Timo Lehtinen(b) and Janne Kusmin(d) from Catamenia. After the line-up change guys had 5 weeks to write the material for the next album. Luckily they managed to get the material up on time. The studio began in the beginning of November.

The recordings of album "They Will Return" progressed fluently. Mixing and recording were made by Ahti Kortelainen. Album was filled with 7 new songs, one re-arranged song from "Svieri Obraza" demo and one cover song from Megadeth, which have been Antti`s and Pekka`s main influencer on their music carrier. The album was released 4.2.2002 in Finland.
Discuss this band at our forum

Tartarean Desire forum banner

Current members Add - Fetch
Janne Kusmin2001-Drums
Marco Sneck2004-Keyboards
Timo Lehtinen2001-BassSee also Catamenia
Antti Kokko1997-GuitarsSee also Eternal Tears Of Sorrow
Pekka Kokko1992-Guitars, vocalsSee also Eternal Tears Of Sorrow
Former members Add - Fetch
Pasi Hiltula2000-2003KeyboardsSee also Eternal Tears Of Sorrow
Antti-Matti Talala1999-2000KeyboardsSee also Eternal Tears Of Sorrow
Altti Veteläinen2000-2000BassSee also For My Pain, National Napalm Syndicate
Petri Sankala1992-2000DrumsSee also Eternal Tears Of Sorrow, For My Pain
Anssi Seppänen1992-1993Guitars
Session musicians Add - Fetch
Unknown / none
Buy albums
Official releases Add
1993Ethereal DevotionNo label
1994With No Strings AttachedNo label
1997Material World - GodNo label
1998TomorrowNo label
1998Under the Burbot`s NestNo label
1999Svieri Obraza (promo)No label
2000SwamplordSpikefarm Records
2002They Will ReturnSpikefarm Records
2003SwampsongSpikefarm Records
2006The Black WaltzSpikefarm Records
2008For The RevolutionSpikefarm Records
Tour dates / gigs
Click here to search for upcoming tour dates

Click here for a complete gig history
Search this site


E-mail address: