Tartarean Desire logo On the web since 2000 image
BANDS: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z  => Add
Turn edit mode on Turn on edit mode

Poland flag
BAND ADDED 2005-04-24, 00:00
LAST UPDATE 2010-09-27, 13:34
Band biography
Sceptic photo
The band formed in 1994 as TORMENTOR with the line-up of Dariusz Styczeń (g), Jacek Hiro (g) and Maciek Zięba (dr). A year later the name was changed to SCEPTIC and some personnel changes occurred. Jacek Mrożek became a new guitar player replacing Dariusz Styczeń while the vocal position was taken by Arek Stawiarski. It was this line-up that recorded the band's debut demo simply titled "Demo 96" featuring the intro and 5 tracks. The follow-up to this tape was recorded in 1997, after Paweł Kolasa (ATHROPIA RED SUN) joined the band on bass. "Beyond Reality" comprised 8 cuts and garnered some serious underground following. Unfortunately, 1998 marked the rise of differences among the members and saw the emergence of the new line-up with Jacek Hiro (g), Kuba Kogut (dr), Marcin Urbaś (voc) and Paweł Kolasa (bg). The following 2-tracker featured what were perhaps the band's most representative compositions, "Die From Within" and "Interior Of Life," and proved to be the turning point in their career. Following a number of positive reviews in the underground press, SCEPTIC signed a contract with Massive Management.

In January 1999 the band recorded their debut album "Blind Existence," which also featured the second guitarist, Czesiek Semla. SCEPTIC became one of the pretenders to the "Best Debut of 1999" title, topping many of the press annual charts. The fivesome also appeared and was well received at Thrash'em All Festival'99 and Mystic Festival'99. It wasn't, however, until November 1999 that "Blind Existence" saw the light of day thanks to Mystic Productions. Highly technical death metal and Marcin Urbaś's sporting success made both the band and their music very popular, not only in the music circles. Also, good reception in the Western press, including 8.5 points out of 10 in the German Rock Hard, promised further career. All in all, the year 1999 was rounded with several concerts in Poland, a number of interviews and the title of the most promising new band.

February 2000 marked another round of line-up changed. The band re-acquired the old drummer Maciek Zięba, but lost Marcin Urbaś, who was replaced by Michał Senajko. SCEPTIC started writing the new material, but also performed at Thrash'em All Festival'2000 and during several underground events. On September 15 the band again entered the Studio Selani to record the second album tentatively called "Lost Identity." Produced by Szymon Czech, the material contained 9 track, including the NOCTURNUS cover, "Arctic Crypt." The video-clip to the "Pathetic Being" track was also produced. Soon afterwards, the album title was changed to "Pathetic Being" while the cover artwork was commissioned to and subsequently delivered by Jacek Wiśniewski (VADER, DECAPITATED, DIES IRAE, HADES). As the session concluded, Michał Senajko left the band to be replaced by Michał Skotniczny from CRIONICS.

In January 2001 the band signed to Empire Records which will release the album in Europe on 21 April 2001 and license it to Last Episode for Europe. On the beginning of September album will be released by Crash Music/Pavement Music in the States and Canada. Territories of Japan and Asia will be marketed by Avalon/Marquee Inc.

SCEPTIC are one of the most promising young bands in Poland and not only. Their musicianship, experience, composing talents and characteristic soloing make their death metal stunningly refreshing and mind-expanding.
Discuss this band at our forum

Tartarean Desire forum banner

Current members Add - Fetch
Weronika Zbieg2004-Vocals
Jacek Hiro1994-GuitarsSee also Deathbringer, Decapitated, Virgin Snatch
Grzegorz "Felix"-2004-BassSee also Atrophia Red Sun
Jakub Chmura-2004-Drums
Former members Add - Fetch
Kuba Kogut1998-2000DrumsSee also Atrophia Red Sun
Pawel "Fafson"1997-BassSee also Atrophia Red Sun
Czesiek Semla1999-Guitars
Michal "Psycho"2000-2000VocalsSee also Thy Disease
Michal Skotniczny2000-Guitars, vocalsSee also Crionics
Arek Stawiarski1995-1998Vocals
Maciej Zięba1994-1998, 2000-Drums
Dariusz Styczeń1994-1995GuitarsSee also Crionics, Thy Disease
Jacek Mrożek1995-Guitars
Rafal Kastory GuitarsSee also Atrophia Red Sun, Lux Occulta
Marcin Urbas1998-2000, -2004Vocals
Session musicians Add - Fetch
Unknown / none
Buy albums
Official releases Add
Unknown / none
Tour dates / gigs
Click here to search for upcoming tour dates

Click here for a complete gig history
Search this site


E-mail address: