Tartarean Desire logo On the web since 2000 image
REVIEW: Cannibal Corpse - Kill Metal Blade Records, 2006
Cannibal Corpse - Kill - cover art To celebrate the 10th full length album of the genre's most successful band in terms of sales and perhaps popularity, and to also mark the 10th year of George "Corpsegrinder" Fisher's tenure in the band, Metal Blade and Cannibal Corpse suggest that "the time to kill is now" and offer the simply and suitably named Kill. If you thought the band could have no higher profile than appearing in the movie Ace Ventura Pet Detective or perhaps having the first Death Metal record on the Billboard Charts with Vile, you were sorely wrong. The sickness has spread and legions of Cannibal Corpse fans abound anywhere and everywhere Death Metal can be heard. It's been over 2 years since the birth of The Wretched Spawn -- but why has it taken so long for the new album? Well, a lot has happened in the CC camp, kiddies. Founding axeman Jack Owen bowed out to pursue a decidedly Rock band (Adrift) leaving Alex Webster and Paul Mazurkiewicz as the only original members. Little did anyone know that Owen would later join Deicide in a surprise move.

History aside -- well, not quite as guitarist Rob Barrett rejoined the fold for this album, effectively playing alongside Pat O'Brien, the man who replaced him when he left after the Vile tour cycle -- Kill really, um, kills in all aspects of sonic abuse. Oh, the brutality! Erik Rutan's knob-twiddling yields a slightly less thick sound than Neil Kernon's masterful hand, but the record is no less crushing. Maniacal guitar work abounds throughout the album and the drumming is all that you'd expect from the mind of Mazurkiewicz. Corpsegrinder's vocals are less varied than on previous efforts and thus take a little away from the efficacy of the overall sound, but more distracting is Webster's bass being more subdued than ever. It's still audible, just not as upfront as with other records. Subtleties abound on this record and several listens are necessary to internalize them all. The pacing is primarily fast and furious though instrumental album closer "Infinite Misery" is decidedly slower and the best song here. There's a reason Cannibal Corpse rule.

written by Tony Belcher

Find out more about the band

» Cannibal Corpse band details
1. The Time To Kill Is Now
2. Make Them Suffer
3. Murder Worship
4. Necrosadistic Warnings
5. Five Nails Through The Neck
6. Purification By Fire
7. Death Walking Terror
8. Barbaric Bludgeonings
9. The Discipline Of Revenge
10. Brain Removal Device
11. Maniacal
12. Submerged In Boiling Flesh
13. Infinite Misery

Playing time: 42.10

Buy other Cannibal Corpse albums
Search this site


E-mail address: